brush care

For all painting related discussions.

Moderators: Rangers, Leaders

Squire

brush care

Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:07 pm

My brushes have paint covered bristles and femurs(the metal bit) how can I fix this?
IZ A ORK.DAT MEANS IZ STOMPIER KILLIER AND BETTER DEN YOU RUNTZ.WAAAAAAAAA......................GGGGGHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Warrior

Re: brush care

Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:11 am

Well really washing them out between use is the most crucial thing, and not letting the paint dry in the bristles.

I also clean out the brushes with some hand soap, it can help with the paint.

Although I'm no pro by any standard I hope this helps. :D
Who ever said swimming was easier then running never swam a 400 I.M.

Proud swimmer and athlete for Queen's University of Charlotte

Squire

Tue Jul 02, 2013 2:10 am

Once it gets down to the roots there isn't much you can do. The best thing to do is to not let it get down there in the first place. I used to have this problem because I was using pot paints and putting too much paint on at a time.
I would recommend using paints with droppers so you don't accidentally take too much on the brush and if you need a lot of paint, use a brush with a wider tip so it covers more area.

As for the current brush, give it a good wash with warm water with a touch of soap or detergent, but prevention is better than cure. If you use chemicals on the bristles they are likely to go stiff or floppy, so I would wait for someone who has actually used a certain product before trying it (unless you are going to throw the brush out anyway). You should be able to pick up some decent smaller sized brushes from a $2/budget shop.

Standard Bearer

Tue Jul 02, 2013 2:27 am

Prevention is best, as has been said.

You can use brush restorer/cleaner for dried acrylic, it does work well, but often if the bristles have been damaged, curled, frayed etc, then they will remain that way, but the cleaner will get the paint off.