Mordor Book errata and FAQ questions only

All questions or things you think are wrong about the new book to be posted here. Will collate into a long list and get it sent off after a while!

Moderators: Rangers, Leaders

Standard Bearer
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 12:31 am

Mordor Book errata and FAQ questions only

Mon Feb 06, 2012 11:47 pm

As title.
Last edited by LonelyKnight on Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: hithero said so

User avatar
Warrior
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:23 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerpen

Re: Mordor Book Discussion and Questions

Tue Feb 07, 2012 6:51 pm

Kardush:
In the book: 2A 1W
Mistake or for real?
Middle-Earth Monster Mash - 4th (Mordor+Harad)
Middle-Earth Monster Mash II - 4th (Galadhrim)
Middle-Earth Monster Mash III - 2nd (Thorin's Company)
Middle-Earth Monster Mash IV - 7th (Minas Morgul)

User avatar
Warrior
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:23 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerpen

Re: Mordor Book Discussion and Questions

Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:13 pm

The Betrayer
Transfix: 4+
Compel: 4+

Every other Righwraith had transfix always one lower than compel

Mistake or for real?
Middle-Earth Monster Mash - 4th (Mordor+Harad)
Middle-Earth Monster Mash II - 4th (Galadhrim)
Middle-Earth Monster Mash III - 2nd (Thorin's Company)
Middle-Earth Monster Mash IV - 7th (Minas Morgul)

User avatar
Standard Bearer
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Mordor Book Discussion and Questions

Wed Feb 08, 2012 8:03 pm

P.46, The Death Of Kings

Does the Witch-King start with his basic amount of M/W/F or the maximum amount?

Can Gollum lead a warband? (Assuming I know in advance the Ringbearer will be on the table) Can Gollum be nominated as the leader of a force?
Armies:
Kingdoms of Men(Minas Tirith, Fiefdoms, Arnor), The Free Peoples(Durin's Folk, The Fellowship, The Wanderers in the Wild, The White Council), Mordor, The Fallen Realms(Isengard, Harad and Umbar, The Eastern Kingdoms), Moria & Angmar

User avatar
Standard Bearer
 
Posts: 2292
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 6:56 pm

Re: Mordor Book errata and FAQ questions only

Fri Feb 10, 2012 5:38 pm

The Great Beast states that it only counts as one model for purposes of war and model counts. Does this also mean that it only counts as one for.break point? Those orcs on the back of the beast could survive the fall and thus add models back into a broken force to make it unbroken if this is true.

User avatar
Istari
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:56 am

Re: Mordor Book errata and FAQ questions only

Fri Feb 10, 2012 7:12 pm

hixont wrote:The Great Beast states that it only counts as one model for purposes of war and model counts. Does this also mean that it only counts as one for.break point? Those orcs on the back of the beast could survive the fall and thus add models back into a broken force to make it unbroken if this is true.


There is no mention of counting as one for break point, only for archer count, can't see a problem with this one.

User avatar
Standard Bearer
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: Mordor Book errata and FAQ questions only

Fri Feb 10, 2012 8:00 pm

The following questions all refer to the Great Beast:


1) Since measuring is done base to base, and the Orc crew do not have bases, does this mean that shooting is measured from the base of the Beast rather than from the Orc crew?
2) Related to the previous question; is LOS drawn from the Orc crew? The rules state that a model may turn 360° freely, so does the Great Beast limit its crew's LOS despite being a single model?
3) If the Great Beast is in base contact with at least nine models with Orc bows, can it partake in a volley fire? If so, does it get one shot or nine?
4) If the Great Beast is ever knocked down (for example, through Nature's Wrath or Sorcerous Blast), does it lose its crew?
5) If hit by Sorcerous Blast, does the crew each take a strength 5 hit or a strength 3 hit?
6)The rules state that the crew is an integral part of the Beast, and it's important to keep track of any crew lost. However, there seem to be no consequences when the Beast loses all of it's crew. Is this correct?
7) When determining victory points in Domination, Hold Ground!, Lords of Battle, Reconnoitre and The High Ground, is the Orc crew counted?
Armies:
Kingdoms of Men(Minas Tirith, Fiefdoms, Arnor), The Free Peoples(Durin's Folk, The Fellowship, The Wanderers in the Wild, The White Council), Mordor, The Fallen Realms(Isengard, Harad and Umbar, The Eastern Kingdoms), Moria & Angmar

User avatar
Istari
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 7:56 am

Re: Mordor Book errata and FAQ questions only

Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:59 am

GrashnarTheSecond wrote:The following questions all refer to the Great Beast:


1) Since measuring is done base to base, and the Orc crew do not have bases, does this mean that shooting is measured from the base of the Beast rather than from the Orc crew?
2) Related to the previous question; is LOS drawn from the Orc crew? The rules state that a model may turn 360° freely, so does the Great Beast limit its crew's LOS despite being a single model?
3) If the Great Beast is in base contact with at least nine models with Orc bows, can it partake in a volley fire? If so, does it get one shot or nine?
4) If the Great Beast is ever knocked down (for example, through Nature's Wrath or Sorcerous Blast), does it lose its crew?
5) If hit by Sorcerous Blast, does the crew each take a strength 5 hit or a strength 3 hit?
6)The rules state that the crew is an integral part of the Beast, and it's important to keep track of any crew lost. However, there seem to be no consequences when the Beast loses all of it's crew. Is this correct?
7) When determining victory points in Domination, Hold Ground!, Lords of Battle, Reconnoitre and The High Ground, is the Orc crew counted?


I think the problem here is that 'integral' and 'counts as one' are being applied to other things other than what is written.
a) the orcs are only integral to the beast because they have no bases and when made they are stuck to the model, probably as their isn't enough romm for a base.
b) it only counts as one for working out you bow % and numbers in a warband - nothing else, so...

1) measure from the individual archer as normal, they are behind a barrier, so measure from there.
2) individual archer, its not a single model.
3) no volley fire, the archers bases have to be in B2B contact.
4) a good question, I would assume they would be dismounted like a monstrous mount, can they climb back in?
5) they are individual models, so S3 on any model in the way, but how do you lay them down if stuck to the howdah?
6) seems correct to me, the driver does nothing.
7) each orc and the beast would count as one.

EDIT. Had a rethink overnight, maybe you do measure from the models base for archers, reason being is that you use a dice to keep track of casualties instead of removing models, and if you do that how do you know which models are dead?

User avatar
Villager
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:09 am

Re: Mordor Book Discussion and Questions

Sat Feb 11, 2012 8:14 am

Denizen of The Deep wrote:Kardush:
In the book: 2A 1W
Mistake or for real?


In the White Dwarf that Kardush was printed in he had 2A and 1W - or was that also a misprint?
We should forgive our enemies, but not before they are hanged.

User avatar
Warrior
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:23 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerpen

Re: Mordor Book Discussion and Questions

Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:33 pm

Master of Shadow wrote:
Denizen of The Deep wrote:Kardush:
In the book: 2A 1W
Mistake or for real?


In the White Dwarf that Kardush was printed in he had 2A and 1W - or was that also a misprint?

Well we kind of asume it was, and they just copied the mistake
Middle-Earth Monster Mash - 4th (Mordor+Harad)
Middle-Earth Monster Mash II - 4th (Galadhrim)
Middle-Earth Monster Mash III - 2nd (Thorin's Company)
Middle-Earth Monster Mash IV - 7th (Minas Morgul)

Next
Return to FAQ for the 2012 SBG Books

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest