FAQ Questions for the Hobbit Rulebook

All questions or things you think are wrong about the new book to be posted here. Will collate into a long list and get it sent off after a while!

Moderators: Rangers, Leaders

Standard Bearer
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 12:31 am

FAQ Questions for the Hobbit Rulebook

Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:11 pm

As per the title, on request.

User avatar
Ranger
 
Posts: 2062
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:22 pm

Re: FAQ Questions for the Hobbit Rulebook

Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:14 pm

Can wargs, spiders, dragons, bats and all other animals carry axes?

Can the above pick up banners after the bearer is killed?

Please errata axes as they're too strong now.
BlackMist - 2 times UK LotR Champion.
Coordinator of the Great British Hobbit League.
Click to view the rankings
Join the Facebook group to stay up to date with the latest Tournaments

User avatar
Warrior
 
Posts: 532
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Re: FAQ Questions for the Hobbit Rulebook

Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:29 pm

Can any model be converted to carry any hand weapon?

Can chariots use brutal power attacks?

Can monsters use special strikes?

What the heck were you guys smoking when you came up with the axes special strike, and where can I purchase some?
War is not about who's right, but who's left.

User avatar
Warrior
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:23 pm
Location: Belgium, Antwerpen

Re: FAQ Questions for the Hobbit Rulebook

Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:34 pm

What about Chieftain's axes who also counts as Elven Blades?

What about the special rule of Erestor, where he gets a +1 when fighting with his throwing knives in combat. But the new rules prevent him to do so.

EDIT: If Monsters like Mordor Trolls can use Special Strikes. Can I give an axe to a Mordor Troll and throw the Balrog through the enemy's lines? (In case I gain 3 S and win combat)

EDIT: When a model is charged by a Monsterous Mount it gets knocked Prone. When I decide to hurl the model, do I use his base to see which models he hits, or his Prone position?
Middle-Earth Monster Mash - 4th (Mordor+Harad)
Middle-Earth Monster Mash II - 4th (Galadhrim)
Middle-Earth Monster Mash III - 2nd (Thorin's Company)
Middle-Earth Monster Mash IV - 7th (Minas Morgul)

Warrior
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Sun Dec 06, 2009 6:33 am
Location: Winnipeg, Canada

Re: FAQ Questions for the Hobbit Rulebook

Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:50 pm

Can we rephrase the chariot question? Somebody's first reaction might be "of course they can't Hurl" and then dismiss it out of hand, but Barge seems completely reasonable. How about:

Can chariots use Barge? Hurl? Rend?

Other questions:
Do Riders of Rohan count as warriors for the purposes of determining the bow limit of non-RoR warriors in the contingent, or are they like heroes and not factored at all? (Preference: they still count as warriors.)

Can spear/pike support still be shot at? There is some confusion due to the new wording and rules about whether they are "in the fight" or not. (Preference: they can still be shot at.)

And yes, please nerf axes, and while you're at it, can you fix the feinting rule so that goblins don't always effectively have poisoned weapons?

User avatar
Ranger
 
Posts: 2062
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 11:22 pm

Re: FAQ Questions for the Hobbit Rulebook

Fri Dec 07, 2012 11:11 am

Channeled Your Staff is Broken causes a S7 hit but it is not specified that it has to be cast on a model with a Staff. Can this be cast on any model?
BlackMist - 2 times UK LotR Champion.
Coordinator of the Great British Hobbit League.
Click to view the rankings
Join the Facebook group to stay up to date with the latest Tournaments

Warrior
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 2:57 pm
Location: Kirkby In Ashfield

Re: FAQ Questions for the Hobbit Rulebook

Fri Dec 07, 2012 5:17 pm

Can we ban anyone who thought "I'm going to give spiders axes by modelling them on" from any tournament or events day?
Same with animals carrying banners

For pete's sake you don't need a rule clarification you just need to play with people who actually play to have fun rather than play beardy because htey can't grow one.

Warrior
 
Posts: 666
Joined: Sat May 14, 2011 2:57 pm
Location: Kirkby In Ashfield

Re: FAQ Questions for the Hobbit Rulebook

Sat Dec 08, 2012 7:14 pm

Today's scenario fun brought forth a few questions

Can you carry a pike and a crossbow?

If a goblin with axe supports (using chittering hordes) another goblin then can the supporting GOblin use his axe?

Scribe - during a reconoitre mission can the scribe still choose any board edge to bring on the reinforcements? Because if this is hte case then every reinforcement model can just enter and leave from the opposite board edge and count as a VP.
Seems a bit odd if true because when combined with fury it guarentees you 1 model per turn getting off the board.

Also how does the Scribe "move on" in said scenario seeing as it is immobile.


Spear support question - now it says that spear support "join the combat" does that mean they no longer have a control zone and cannot wander off to support somewhere else and cannot be shot??
(I know what we want to hear but its not clear IMO)

Guards of hte Galadhrim court. Can they support wood elf spears?

IS the old "if you want to support your base must be equal or larger than the model you are supporting" really gone?

Squire
 
Posts: 257
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 12:30 am

Re: FAQ Questions for the Hobbit Rulebook

Sun Dec 09, 2012 1:12 pm

If you read the sorcerous blast spell, it specifies that if you hit a model in combat then every model in that fight is also knocked down.

The Hurl rules however say no such thing, merely "all models passed through" get hit.

Is it meant that way or is just an oversight?
An English professor wrote the words, “Woman without her man is nothing” on the blackboard and directed his students to punctuate it correctly.
The men wrote: “Woman, without her man, is nothing.”
The women wrote: “Woman: Without her, man is nothing.”

User avatar
Standard Bearer
 
Posts: 1288
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2009 10:29 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: FAQ Questions for the Hobbit Rulebook

Sun Dec 09, 2012 8:47 pm

cereal_theif wrote:Guards of hte Galadhrim court. Can they support wood elf spears?


Pikes can only support pikes, so no.
Armies:
Kingdoms of Men(Minas Tirith, Fiefdoms, Arnor), The Free Peoples(Durin's Folk, The Fellowship, The Wanderers in the Wild, The White Council), Mordor, The Fallen Realms(Isengard, Harad and Umbar, The Eastern Kingdoms), Moria & Angmar

Next
Return to FAQ for the 2012 SBG Books

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests