Supporting goblins

For all questions and clarifications concerning the Strategy Battle Game rules.

Moderators: Rangers, Leaders

Villager
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:28 pm

Supporting goblins

Thu Feb 25, 2016 6:33 pm

If a goblin is supporting another Goblin in combat and the Goblin infront of the supporting Goblin is beaten in a fight, do both Goblins have to move back 1" or is the first goblin trapped ?

Villager
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 9:27 pm

Re: Supporting goblins

Thu Feb 25, 2016 7:27 pm

That is how we play it. P28 of the LOTR rule book we have, the big blue one with a gold ring on the front, has a section about "making way".
"If a defeated warrior can't back away from his opponent because of friends blocking his path then the friends can move up to 1"/2cm in order to make room."

It is not clear how many ranks back this goes though.

We play it the same way in "The Hobbit SBG".

Villager
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:28 pm

Re: Supporting goblins

Fri Feb 26, 2016 10:58 am

Thank you, Another quick question, Would the supporting goblins control zone be canceled out if he is supporting another goblin? or could you charge a supporting goblin to prevent him supporting ? And i know the support adds a dice to the fight roll, Do they also add a dice to the wound roll ?

Villager
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 9:27 pm

Re: Supporting goblins

Fri Feb 26, 2016 8:40 pm

We play that the supporting goblin is in the fight so his zone of control is cancelled. Same for spearmen and pikemen they lose it as well.

And yes you can charge the supporting goblin and stop him supporting.

And yes again, all the supporting goblin{s} add their dice in the "fight" and the "to wound" rolls. Remember that if they have different strength or weapons with different values then each strike is assessed separately.

Villager
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 2:28 pm

Re: Supporting goblins

Fri Feb 26, 2016 9:32 pm

Thanks again, How many goblins can support a goblin in a fight ? I got my rule book today it looks like its just one in the book.

Villager
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 9:27 pm

Re: Supporting goblins

Fri Feb 26, 2016 11:21 pm

The "Chittering Horde" rule allows goblins to support each other "as if they had spears" so one goblin can support another in combat. They also get "special strikes".

So if Dwalin is fighting 2 goblins in base to base contact with him then another goblin can support each attacker giving Dwalin his 3 attacks and the goblins 4 attacks. Though they might be better spreading out if they can to trap him so they get 8 strikes IF they win!

Return to SBG Rules Queries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests